The Ocean

“When anxious, uneasy and bad thoughts come, I go to the sea, and the sea drowns them out with its great wide sounds, cleanses me with its noise, and imposes a rhythm upon everything in me that is bewildered and confused.”
– Rainer Maria Rilke

Today the crew and I were able to go out onto the ocean and go fishing! This was my first time fishing and going that far out into the ocean on a boat. I was very nervous of getting sea sick but in the end I felt and did great!! We left the dock at around 6am and headed out to catch some fish. The sun coming up onto the ocean was one of the most spectacular views I have ever seen. Hearing the boat crash against the waves and looking out into the on going deep blue ocean was a perfect way to start my morning. Once we got out to our fishing spot, which was about 2 hours out from the dock we set up some lines and started to fish! I fished for a little bit and when the fishermen grabbed my fishing pole to real me back in, a fish latched on and up came a great size eel fish called the “cusk”. It was so great to have caught something out on the ocean and see what passion people have for this type of living. We stayed out on the ocean for a couple hours and most of the crew caught a fish each and then all of a sudden we had a shark bite onto a couple of our lines. Finally on the fourth time he latched on we finally hooked him and got him up on to the boat. This was such a crazy experience and very interesting to see. Once they got the shark on the boat they told us it was a Blue Shark that was about a 10-12 foot shark. After that we felt accomplished and decided to head in! We then of course all decided to take pictures with the shark and capture the moment. Today was such a beautiful and inspiring day for me. I am so thankful that I was able to be apart of such a cool experience and I hope everyone at least once in there life gets to get out on a boat and catch some amazing creatures! Live everyday to the fullest and don’t miss out on a moment of pure bliss and happiness!

IMG_4231

“Everything Happens For A Reason.”

Leave a Reply

